A CMS (or Content Management System) is a computer application or program that is used to create and manage digital content. By logging on to a website CMS, a user is able to add, edit or delete content on the website.

Wordpress Dashboard - Pages Menu

The screenshot above is the WordPress Dashboard pages menu for this website.

The WordPress CMS allows for web-based publishing of content, version control (so that you can revert to previous versions of content) plus different levels of user controls and permissions. Updating the website is made easy – For example, components such as the header, footer, menus and sidebars can be updated in one place so you do not need to replicate the changes per page.

WordPress currently holds 61.1% market share of all CMS websites Worldwide (2019). Here are just a few companies who use WordPress to power their website:

TechCrunch: https://techcrunch.com
The White House: https://www.whitehouse.gov
BBC America: http://www.bbcamerica.com
Facebook Newsroom: https://newsroom.fb.com
Network Rail: https://www.networkrail.co.uk
Unicef UK: https://www.unicef.org.uk
The Obama Foundation: https://www.obama.org
The Village Voice: https://www.villagevoice.com
Angry Birds: http://www.angrybirds.com
The Walt Disney Company: https://www.thewaltdisneycompany.com
WNBA: https://www.wnba.com
Toyota Motors Brasil: https://www.toyota.com.br
Glamour Italy: https://www.glamour.it

And here are some celebrities who have WordPress websites:

Maria Sharapova: https://www.mariasharapova.com
Usain Bolt: http://usainbolt.com
John Grisham: http://www.jgrisham.com
Russell Brand: https://www.russellbrand.com
Snoop Dog: http://snoopdogg.com
Katy Perry: https://www.katyperry.com
Sylvester Stallone: https://sylvesterstallone.com
Justin Bieber: https://www.justinbiebermusic.com

I am a WordPress Designer and Developer – If you would like a new website or need your current WordPress website maintained and updated, get in touch today for a free quote.